Early filing period ends with primary elections set for Stearns sheriff, St. Cloud school board

Mike KnaakElection 2018, Featured News, News, Sartell – St. Stephen, St. Joseph0 Comments

by Mike Knaak


Area voters can look forward to two primary elections as a result of candidate filings that closed June 5.

The primary election is Aug. 14.

Stearns County voters will elect the first new sheriff in 16 years after four men filed.

Nine people filed for three seats on the St. Cloud school board.

The general election is  Nov. 6. The filing period for offices that don’t conduct primaries, including St. Joseph City Council and Sartell-St. Stephen school board, opens July 31.

Here is a list of who has filed for contested seats. Candidates with no opposition are not listed. The individual listing includes information from the candidate’s voluntary disclosure form if they filed one with the secretary of state.

Senate District 13

Jeff Howe, Republican. Currently represents District 13A in the Minnesota House.

Joe Perske, DFL. Current District 2 Stearns County commissioner; former Sartell mayor and City Council member.

House District 13A

Lisa Demuth, Republican.

Jim Reed, DFL, political science professor at the College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University.

House District 13B

Heidi L. Everett, DFL.

Tim O’Driscoll, Republican.

Stearns County sheriff

Dave Bentrud, chief, Waite Park Police Department.

Bob Dickhaus, lieutenant, Stearns County Sheriff’s Office.

Dwight P. Pfannenstein, acting chief, St. Joseph Police Department.

Steve Soyka, sergeant, Stearns County Sheriff’s Office.


Stearns County auditor/treasurer

John William Beuning.

Randy R. Schreifels.

Sartell mayor (four-year term)

Ryan Fitzthum.

David Peterson.

Sartell City Council (two seats open, four-year term)

Brady Andel.

Barika Davis.

Timothy W. Elness.

Jeff Kolb.

St. Cloud school board (three seats open)

Scott Andreasen, owner of a private detective firm.

Zachary Dorholt.

Les Green.

Peter Hamerlinck.

Larry Hosch.

Thomas D. Kufalk.

Natalie Ringsmuth.

Beth Schlangen, retired.

Kathleen A. Steiner.

Benton County commissioner District 3

Two people have filed for Benton County commissioner in District 3, which includes the east side of Sartell. Bonnita Bernhardt and Steven Heinen are running for the seat currently held by Jim McMahon.

To look up candidates for all Minnesota offices up for election, go to the secretary of state’s website at https://candidates.sos.state.mn.us/.

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply