Filing for offices without primaries opens July 31

Mike KnaakElection 2018, Featured News, Sartell – St. Stephen, St. Joseph0 Comments

The filing period for elected offices that don’t conduct primary elections opens Tuesday, July 31. The filing period ends at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

The Sartell-St. Stephen school district will elect three board members to serve four-year terms.

In St. Joseph, voters will elect a mayor and two City Council members. Council seats held by Dale Wick and Anne Buckvold are up for election.

The city of St. Stephen will elect two council members to serve four-year terms, one council member to serve a two-year term and a mayor to serve a two-year term.

There will be a statewide election on  Tuesday, Aug. 14, for elected offices that conduct primaries. Filing for those seats ended on June 5.

The primary ballot for contested races with party designation includes governor/lieutenant governor, attorney general, two U.S. Senate seats and the state’s House of Representative seats.

The non-partisan ballot includes Stearns County sheriff and St. Cloud school board.

The view a sample primary election, go to

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply