Smith, Lewandowski elected to City Council

MIKE KNAAK2020 election, Featured News, Print Sartell - St. Stephen, Sartell – St. StephenLeave a Comment

by Mike Knaak

Incumbent Mike Chisum lost his re-election bid in a four-way race for two Sartell City Council seats. Voters elected Jill Smith and Alex Lewandowski. Smith received 5,437 votes.

Lewandowski received 5,011 votes, ahead of Chisum with 3,424 votes. Aaron Johnson had 1,627 votes. Council members serve four-year terms.

Voters re-elected by wide margins two Republicans to the Minnesota Senate and House.

In Senate District 13, Republican Jeff Howe won a second term with 32,621 votes, or 69 percent, over DFL challenger Michael Willemsen, who finished with 14,306 votes. District 13 wraps around the city of St. Cloud and covers most of eastern Stearns County from Sartell to Paynesville to Lynden Township and Sauk Rapids in Benton County.

Incumbent Tim O’Driscoll won a sixth term with 16,522 votes, or 68 percent, over DFL challenger Benjamin Carollo, who received 7,684 votes. District 13B covers the northeastern corner of Stearns County including the cities of Holdingford, St. Stephen and Sartell and Sauk Rapids in Benton County.

State senators serve four-year terms and representatives serve two-year terms.

St. Stephen City Council members Steve Trobec and Tom Vouk were re-elected without opposition. Trobec received 365 votes and Vouk received 351 votes. No one filed for mayor. Write-in candidates received a total of 185 votes. Lisa Marvin received 47 votes and Ed Peternell received 17 votes.

In an uncontested race in Stearns County Commissioner District 2, Joe Perske was re-elected with 98 percent of the votes.

In the presidential race in Sartell, Donald Trump received 5,854 votes compared with 4,375 votes for Joe Biden, giving Trump a 57 percent to 43 percent advantage.

Vote totals are unofficial tallies from the Minnesota Secretary of State.

Alex Lewandowski

Jill Smith

Matthew Moehrle

Jason Nies


Leave a Reply