St. Joseph: Contact your elected officials before it’s too late

Mike KnaakEditorial, Print St. Joseph, St. Joseph0 Comments

With a new year comes a new team of elected leaders and a list of issues for them to tackle.

Some of those issues linger from year to year, unsolved because politicians couldn’t agree, the solutions cost too much or because there’s not enough pressure from voters to find an answer.

One way individual voters can act is to contact their elected leaders. Often, those phone calls and emails only are sent when a voter is upset by an action. And sometimes that’s too late.

After the Legislature, the city council or the school board acts, it’s too late to change the policy. About all you can do is be mad. But that’s not very helpful.

To encourage early and frequent communication with your elected leaders, we’re listing their contact information and we hope you’ll share your thoughts on current issues now instead of just getting mad later.

One new member joined the St. Joseph City Council this year, Brian Theisen. Mayor Rick Schultz and council member Anne Buckvold were re-elected.

Here’s their contact information:

Mayor Rick Schultz

rschultz25@msn.com

320-260-0393

Council members:

Bob Loso

bobloso52@gmail.com

Ph: 320-363-8703

Anne Buckvold

abuckvold@cityofstjoseph.com

320-339-1941

Troy Goracke

troygoracke@yahoo.com

320-241-2005

Brian Theisen

btheisen@cityofstjoseph.com

320-293-4712

The St. Joseph area has new representatives in the Legislature. Longtime member of the House of Representatives, Jeff Howe, now represents District 13 in the Senate. Former Rocori school board member Lisa Demuth won election to Howe’s 13A House seat.

Sen. Jeff Howe

95 University Avenue W.

Minnesota Senate Building, Room 3231

St. Paul, Minn. 55155

651-296-2084

Rep. Lisa Demuth

223 State Office Building

St. Paul, Minn. 55155

rep.lisa.demuth@house.mn

651-296-4373

Three new members were elected to the St. Cloud school board in 2018 joining four incumbents. The members are:

Al Dahlgren

al.dahlgren@isd742.org, 320-492-4790

Zachary Dorholt

zach.dorholt@isd742.org, 320-224-0784

Les Green

les.green@isd742.org, 320-253-6613

Shannon Haws

shannon.haws@isd742.org, 320-250-3893

Jeff Pollreis

jeff.pollreis@isd742.org, 320-248-3436

Natalie Ringsmuth

natalie.ringsmuth@isd742.org

320-204-2261

Monica Segura-Schwartz

monica.segura-schwartz@isd742.org, 320-492-3775

By connecting with your elected officials, you can help shape the discussions and the solutions to the issues they are trying to solve on our behalf.

Constructive suggestions and opinions are much more useful in producing a satisfying solution than angry calls and emails after a final decision has been made.

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply