Aug. 23 St. Joseph people

Mike KnaakPeople, St. Joseph0 Comments

Brenny Transportation Inc. was a recipient of the Women In Trucking Association’s 2019 Top Woman-Owned Businesses in Transportation. The list was created to recognize women in leadership and encourage more women to become proactive leaders in their organizations and start their own businesses. The recipients will be honored at Women In Trucking Accelerate! Conference & Expo Sept. 30-Oct. 2 in Dallas.

The Minnesota State Arts Board awarded seven grants to area organizations including College of St. Benedict Fine Arts Programming, $28,065; St. John’s Boys Choir, $22,137; and St. John’s University Fine Arts Programming, $30,126.

Five St. Joseph students have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must attain a minimum 3.66 grade-point average. The students are: Kate Bechtold, Lauren Chlan, Grayson Martone, Nicole Shimak, and Alex Theisen.

Two St. Joseph students were recently named to the spring semester president’s list at Bemidji (Minn.) State University. They are Margaret Donnay and Lauren Stock. To be eligible students must earn a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

Two St. Joseph students were recently named to the spring semester dean’s list at Bemidji State University. They are Shelbi Keehr and Peter Nelson. To be eligible, students must be earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.

Stearns Electric’s Operation Round-Up Program contributed $24,964 to area organizations during its July meeting. Through the Operation Round-Up program, Stearns Electric Association gives its member-consumers the opportunity to give back to the community by rounding up their electric bill to the nearest dollar. Organizations receiving contributions include St. Joseph Recreational Association.

Jeff Muzik, safety director at Brenny Transportation, was presented the Safety Professional of the Year Award at the annual conference of the Minnesota Trucking Association July 31. The MTA Safety Professional of the Year Award recognizes an individual who manages the safety activities of their company, including being responsible for creating and running the safety program and contributes through personal effort to the advancement of highway safety.

contributed photo
Jeff Muzik (right) of Brenny Trucking receives the MTA Safety Professional of the Year Award from John Hausladen of the Minnesota Trucking Association.

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply