July 13 Sartell people

Mike KnaakPeople, Print Editions, Print Sartell - St. Stephen, Social0 Comments

Eight students from Sartell graduated May 12 from the College of St. Benedict on May 12.

The graduates are: Alexis Flaherty, daughter of Robert and Stacie Flaherty, bachelor’s in nursing; Lauren Hennen, daughter of Gregg and Amy Hennen, bachelor’s in biochemistry; Kathryn Hoppert, daughter of Richard and Merry Hoppert, bachelor’s in accounting; Anna Lindstrom, daughter of Matt Lindstrom and Amy Braig Lindstrom, bachelor’s in psychology; Elizabeth Plaine, daughter of Kelly and Cara Plaine, bachelor’s in psychology; Dana Svensson, daughter of Michael and Margaret Svensson, magna cum laude, bachelor’s in history and philosophy; Allison Eikmeier, daughter of Jeffrey and Michelle Eikmeier, bachelor’s in nutrition; and Rachel Gerdes, daughter  of Jeffrey and Terri Gerdes, bachelor’s in psychology. 

The 2018 graduating class included 505 women, the third-largest class in school history.

Two Sartell students graduated May 13 from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Haley Klundt, graduated with highest honors and earned a bachelor’s with majors in economics and mathematics.

Taylor Pasell, graduated with honors and earned a bachelor’s with a major in communication studies, professional communication emphasis.

Austin Sura of Sartell was named to the spring dean’s list in the College of Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, Indiana.

The students who achieve dean’s honors at Notre Dame represent the top 30 percent.

Stearns Bank was named Best in Class for Large Companies at Minnesota Business Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For, the top prize for this size group of companies. In 2017, Stearns Bank earned second place in the large company category.  

“Stearns Bank employees are the foundation of what we do here,” said Pam Bjerke, VP/ director of human resources for Stearns Bank. “We strongly encourage self-improvement opportunities, along with a commitment to the greater good, all of which help us to retain top talent year after year.”

Four Sartell students recently graduated from the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks. The students are Mary Bachman, doctor of physical therapy; Kelsey Ramseth, bachelor’s in nursing, cum laude; April Seim, master’s; and Lisa Trnka, master’s in education.

Erin Waterbury of Sartell earned a master’s in social work from Simmons College in Boston.

Three Sartell-St. Stephen school district employees have retired.

The retirees are Food Service Director Brenda Braulick, Supervisor of Buildings and Grounds Claude Dingmann and Business Manager Steve Wruck.

“Brenda, Claude and Steve have been instrumental players in the success of this school district and their presence will be greatly missed,” said Superintendent Jeff Schwiebert in a news release. “We wish them the very best as they begin this next chapter of their lives.”

Brenda Braulick was hired in 1999 after working in other districts.
Dingmann remembers being a young person in the late 1960s and marching on Riverside Avenue with others to support the building of a new school district. He graduated from Sartell High School in 1974 and became an employee of the district in 1985. In addition to his role as building and grounds supervisor, Dingmann served as the head custodian at the high school and coached discus in track and field.
Wruck joined the Sartell-St. Stephen school district after 17 years working in other school districts to be closer to his family and to accept the challenges of working in a growing district. In his position as business manager, Wruck oversees transportation, custodial, food service and operations.

Jayme Ericson will serve as the food services director starting in July.  Ericson started with the district in 2017 as the food and nutrition supervisor.  Felicia Kittok has been hired to fill Ericson’s previous position, which will be retitled assistant food services director.

Joe Prom was hired as the school district’s new director of business services and started July 1. Prom comes to Sartell-St. Stephen from the Becker school district where he has served as the director of business services for the past seven years.

Adam Kramer of Sartell graduated in May with a bachelor’s degree majoring in animal science from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

Thirteen Sartell students were named to the spring dean’s list at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. The students are: Mohammad Ayyub, senior, biological sciences; Matthew Bowe, senior, management; Sarah Erickson, senior, nursing; Abigail Lahn, sophomore, liberal arts; Jillian Lawson, junior, liberal arts; Madeline Meier, senior, liberal arts; Zachary Motschke, senior, food, agriculture and natural resource sciences; Brooklyn Pederson, senior, liberal arts; Kaitlin Reichel, senior, food, agriculture and natural resource sciences; Isaac Schneider, sophomore, biological sciences; Erik Skoe, senior, biological sciences; Rory Spanier, sophomore, science and engineering; and Erica Stambaugh, junior, liberal arts.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must earn a 3.66 grade-point average

The following 29 Sartell students received degrees on May 4 from St. Cloud State University: Christopher Babich, master’s in business administration (graduate); Kayla Beam, bachelor’s in accounting; Thomas Bevans, bachelor in biomedical sciences, magna cum laude; Ashley Broughton, bachelor’s in liberal studies, magna cum laude; Brittany Ceesay, master’s in social work; Arielle Gapinski, bachelor’s in psychology, summa cum laude; Jaime Garas, master’s in school counseling; Justin Hall, bachelor’s in information systems; Donovan Hample, bachelor’s in mechanical engineering; Amanda Hines, bachelor’s in liberal studies; Nicole Horstman, bachelor’s in management; Meghan Kirby, bachelor’s in graphic design, cum laude; Sarah Kremer, bachelor’s in music teaching, magna cum laude; David Kroger, bachelor’s in mass communications, cum laude; Robin Laudenbach, master’s in school counseling; Megan Lien, bachelor’s in management, cum laude; Jessica Lundsetter, master’s in marriage and family therapy; Nathaniel Mason, bachelor’s in criminal justice studies; Melissa Palmer, bachelor’s in chemical dependency; Cody Partch, bachelor’s in athletic training; Molly Lou Pintok, master’s in geographic information science; Jason Robinson, bachelor’s in history; Hannah Rodness, bachelor’s in communication sciences and disorders, summa cum laude; Cassandra Schiller, master’s in college counseling and student development; Tiffany Schultz, master’s in mass communications; Joshua Toftey, bachelor’s in statistics, cum laude; Kirsten Uran, master’s in information media; Jeffrey Van Slooten, bachelor’s in technology management; and Lucas Vossen, master’s in business administration (graduate).

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply