June 28 Sartell – St. Stephen people

Mike KnaakPeople, Print Sartell - St. StephenLeave a Comment


Levi Gould of Sartell recently earned his Minnesota Music Teachers Association Challenge Award Trophy. The Challenge award rewards students for participating in various MMTA programs which helps encourage steady musical growth and high performance standards.

Each program is worth 100 to 300 points and students are awarded the trophy when they achieve 2,500 points.



Kelli Loscheider recently earned her Minnesota Music Teachers Association Grand Challenge Award Trophy. She has worked for the past nine years completing various programs offered by MMTA. Kelli received her first MMTA Challenge Award Trophy in 2014 when she earned 2,500 points. She recently achieved her Grand Challenge Award Trophy by achieving 6,000 points. Kelli just graduated from Sartell High School.




Four area students were recently named to the spring president’s and dean’s lists at Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples. John Grogan of Sartell was named to president’s list. Students must earn a minimum 3.75 grade-point average to earn this honor. Garrett Counter and Christina Johnson of Sartell and Kerry Ashfeld of St. Stephen were named to the dean’s list. Students must earn a minimum 3.25 grade-point average to earn this honor.

The Minneapolis Star Tribune has named Stearns Bank one of the state’s Top 150 Places to work in 2019. The annual list is based on employee surveys. For the past two years, American Banker magazine has named Stearns Bank the top performing bank in the nation among banks with between $2 and $10 billion in assets. Stearns Bank ranks in the Top 20 most active Small Business Association lenders in the United States, as well as the Top 50 largest equipment finance companies in the nation. The organization also ranked at the top of Minnesota Business Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For in both 2018 and 2017.

Four Sartell students recently graduated with bachelor’s degrees from Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minn. The students are Lindsey Martens, chemistry, summa cum laude; Grace Peterson, biology; Tianna Raden, elementary education, magna cum laude; and Benjamin Rengel, management.

Four Sartell students were recently named to the spring dean’s list at Concordia College, Moorhead. They are Maiah Cameron, Jasmine Engstrom-Bolstad, Amanda Flemming and Hannah Kosloski Jr. To qualify, students must earn a minimum 3.7 grade-point average.

Robert Sobania of Sartell received the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor’s Award for the spring 2019 semester. The award is presented to students who have a grade-point average of 3.5 or above. 

Three Sartell students were recently named to the spring dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minn. The list includes students who have earned a 3.7 grade-point average. The students are Alexandru Florea,Laura Schwichtenberg and Michael Volgman-Mercuri.

Five Sartell students have been named to the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire spring semester dean’s list. The students are Elizabeth Botz, Tyler Kadlec, Nicole Lindmeier, Addison Rengel and Emma Zenzen.

Two Sartell students are recipients of scholarships to attend Concordia College. The students are Jadyn Lauermann and Jacob Reil.

Six area students earned degrees from North Dakota State University in spring 2019. The students are Zachary Jemming of St. Stephen and Jonathan Carlson, Alyssa Frank, Jenna Karsky, Anna Miller and Tony Paul of Sartell. Carlson, Frank and Miller graduated with honors.

Madeline Smith of Sartell graduated with a bachelor’s degrees in communications studies and Spanish from the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Trevor Skinner of St. Stephen recently graduated with a degree in electrical line worker technology from Minnesota State Community and Technical College.

Four area students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list. They are Kia Grindland, Rhett Staige and Nathan Stracke of Sartell and Tessa Schwinghammer of St. Stephen. Students must maintain a minimum 3.25 grade-point average to qualify for this honor.

Heather Schaefer of Sartell graduated spring 2019 from the University of Minnesota Crookston.

Kayla Chisum and Jenna Weyer of Sartell have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Southwest Minnesota State University, Marshall, for maintaining a 3.5 or higher grade-point average.

Kendra Raths of Sartell received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Minnesota Morris.

Tayler Kalthoff of Sartell is a recipient of the Dik Munson Art Award from the University of Minnesota Morris. This award is presented to outstanding first- and second-year studio art students demonstrating creative potential in future discipline coursework. This award is intended for purchase of materials and supplies for the recipient’s artwork and experimentation with new media. Kalthoff is majoring in studio art and art history.

Author: Mike Knaak

Leave a Reply